Executive Committee Members

The ESAANZ Executive Committee acts as an overseer of the ESAANZ branches, handling matters that effect all of the Branches and the association at large. Executive Committee members are made up of representatives from the branches, some acting in dual roles. In addition to position holders (such as Website manager), each branch has two representatives on the Committee to voice Branch matters.

Gosia Klatt


Associate Professor at the Melbourne Graduate School of Education, at the University of Melbourne. Graduated with a political science degree in European Studies. Her current academic and practical interests lie in the field of education policy in Australia and Europe. Her latest book with M. Milana and S. Vatrella published in 2020 by Palgrave Macmillan is titled: Europe’s Lifelong Learning Markets, Governance and Policy. Using an Instruments Approach. She is currently leading a Jean Monnet Module “Education Policy in Practice (EPP) – European education policy and national systems” co-funded by the Erasmus+ programme of the European Union (2020-2023).

Serena Kelly


Dr Serena Kelly is a senior lecturer in the politics of the European Union, deputy director of the National Centre for Research on Europe, University of Canterbury and chair of the New Zealand Institute of International Affairs, Christchurch branch. Her current research examines the impact of BREXIT on New Zealand, the proposed EU-NZ Free Trade Agreement as well as the visibility of the EU’s development policies in the Pacific. More details about her publications may be found at https://profiles.canterbury.ac.nz/Serena-Kelly/publications

Matt Harvey

Secretary, Australian Delegate

Dr Matt Harvey is a Senior Lecturer in Law at Victoria University Melbourne. His PhD (Monash) was on the constitutional development of the European Union. He was a Robert Schuman Scholar at the European Parliament and has taught EU Law and Comparative Law for many years. His research interests are principally in Constitutional Law and wine law in Europe and Australia.

Mathew Doidge

ANZJES Representative

Dr Mathew Doidge is a Senior Research Fellow at the University of Canterbury’s National Centre for Research on Europe (New Zealand). His research interests include EU external relations, development, EU development policy, regionalism and interregionalism, and Europe–Asia relations.

Anna Christoforou

Membership Manager

Anna is currently a PhD candidate at the University of Canterbury’s National Centre for Research on Europe, having earned her Master’s from King’s College London in Geopolitics and Security studies. Her current research explores the politics and ethics of technological bordering within Europe. She has worked in media monitoring both in the UK and in New Zealand and has a particular interest in the politics of irregular migration