ESAANZ Christchurch Branch

About the Committee

The origins of the New Zealand branch of ESAANZ can be traced back to the mid-1990s when the EU Studies Association of New Zealand was first established. While always driven predominantly by members from the University of Canterbury, over the subsequent quarter century the membership increased as academics from other universities joined, especially from Auckland, Otago and Victoria. EUSANZ was active in applying for Jean Monnet funding for its activities, the key feature of which were conferences (either stand-alone or in cooperation with other groupings such as CESAA). EUSANZ was also a member association under the ECSA World umbrella and the President of EUSANZ served for several years as the EUSA-World Vice-President. The identity of EUSANZ became blended, to some extent, after 2000 with the parallel development of the NCRE at Canterbury and again in 2007 when the 8-university EU Centres Network consortium was set up. These parallel and interlocking initiatives remained the framework for EU studies in New Zealand until 2020 when EUSANZ was replaced by ESAANZ.  The NZ branch of ESAANZ remains multidisciplinary in focus and seeks to support EU research particularly among early-career academics. An annual conference remains the major activity, covid19 notwithstanding.

Members of the Committee

Serena Kelly Profile Picture

Serena Kelly

Christchurch Chair and ESAANZ Vice President
Dr Serena Kelly is a senior lecturer in the politics of the European Union, deputy director of the National Centre for Research on Europe, University of Canterbury and chair of the New Zealand Institute of International Affairs, Christchurch branch. Her current research examines the impact of BREXIT on New Zealand, the proposed EU-NZ Free Trade Agreement as well as the visibility of the EU’s development policies in the Pacific. More details about her publications may be found at
Mathew Doidge

Mathew Doidge

Committee Member
Dr Mathew Doidge is a Senior Research Fellow at the University of Canterbury’s National Centre for Research on Europe (New Zealand). His research interests include EU external relations, development, EU development policy, regionalism and interregionalism, and Europe–Asia relations.


Written Correspondence
P.O. Box 2125
Hawthorn, 3122
Victoria, Australia

ESAANZ annual conference has officially been announced December 1st-3rd 2020!

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic it will be held online.

We are currently welcoming any workshop, paper or panel proposals under the theme of "Europe in 2020"

Further details:

Developed by ScorpioTek
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram